The Genie Designer allows developers to customize specific 5250 screens presented by Genie. If enabled, a floating Design Toolbar will appear on all Genie screens.
The toolbar can be moved to any convenient place on the screen by dragging the blue title bar with the mouse. Design mode is turned on by clicking the button that says Design Mode is Off.
In Design Mode, you are able to apply countless changes to your screens using the properties dialog box that also appears in design mode.
The properties dialog can also be moved to a convenient place on the screen, or minimized by clicking the minimize icon on the right side of the title bar.
The properties dialog is dynamic in the sense that it will display the properties of the element(s) that you have selected. An element is selected by clicking on it.
After you have completed a series of changes to a screen, you must save the configuration and turn off design mode so you can view the result of your changes. You would typically use the Save and Design Mode is On buttons on the toolbar to accomplish this, but there is also a shortcut method available that can be accessed by right-clicking on any blank part of the screen and selecting “Save and Exit Design”. If you want to discard the changes you have made while in design mode, simply select “Exit Design” on this shortcut menu or click the Design Mode is On button on the toolbar.
Note: You must specify at least one screen identifier element and a screen name before the screen can be saved.
By default, when first turning on Design mode for a screen, the Genie Designer will enable customizing of the bottom most layer of the screen. For most screens, there will only be one layer. But for some screens that contain windows, the window will appear in a separate layer. To change between which layer you are editing, you can simply select the layer you wish to edit from the drop down in the Design Toolbar.